19961208_808353892665264_6842048951696235372_n

Get Comfortable With Being Uncomfortable

For years I struggled with anxiety and depression and it lead to me being ‘phone phobic’ That’s my name for it anyway, it likely has a real name but that’s what we will go with for now.

Anyway this phone phobia meant that I very rarely answered the phone, even if it was a family member calling I’d avoid answering.

Worse than that I kept my phone on silent just so that I’d not hear it ring, the sound of knowing someone wanted to speak to me made me physically ill. I’d get the sweats, have a feeling of lead going round in a washing machine in my stomach and I’d get light headed, even weepy.

It wasn’t just receiving calls either, I got the exact same feelings when it came to me having to make a call too!

Now I have no idea why this would happen but it was having a severe impact on my life and,through self development I discovered it was also affecting my chance at being successful.

Have you ever met a successful business woman who couldn’t use the phone? Nope, me neither!

I realised that by allowing this fear to have such power and hold over me I was stopping myself from growing!

They say that ‘nothing grows in your comfort zone’ and I was so entrenched in mine that I was jeopardising everything. All the work I was putting in to my business was being undermined by this fear.

Recently I’ve been reading a book called ‘The Big Leap’ by Gay Hendricks and he talks a lot about fear and excitement being physically almost identical. He said that when you fear something it slows your breathing right down or makes you hold onto your breath however with excitement it’s the opposite, you breathe much more heavily and quickly. I decided to test this concept out with my phobia. I forced myself to set up calls with people for my business and before EVERY.SINGLE.CALL I felt all the same FEAR FEELINGS but instead of holding my breath I took deep, deep, breathes, thought of things that made me genuinely excited and guess what? I managed all the calls and my goodness did I feel bloody good after each and every call!!

I am making a promise to myself to keep booking in calls, to keep speaking to people and to keep using this technique til I no longer have too! Fear won’t stop me. I no longer need to feel comfortable, being uncomfortable is my new favourite thing!

